South County Athletic Association (SCAA) has youth sports programs in the Lorton / Springfield VA area for football, soccer, cheerleading, lacrosse, basketball, field hockey, wresting, volleyball, and track.

SCAA Girls Lax & Yellow Jackets - Clinic with Boston College
by posted 07/21/2021


Through the partnership with SCAA and Yellow Jackets Mid Atlantic, we hosted a free clinic with 2 players from NCAA D1 Champions, Boston College.

TopShare this

Sports Matter - DSG Foundation
by posted 06/26/2021

As youth sports start back up, many kids may not return to play because of costs. The DICK’S Sporting Goods Foundation is proud to announce a $5,000,000 Sports Matter grant to Every Kid Sports, a 501(c)3 nonprofit, to provide income restricted families financial assistance to cover registration fees and help ensure every kid has a chance to play. *Parents or guardians can apply for assistance below.

Click here to apply.

TopShare this

Soccer Alliance - South County & Arlington
by posted 05/01/2021

The South County Athletic Association (SCAA) is pleased to announce an alliance between the SCAA Soccer Program and Arlington Soccer Association.  The alliance will focus on player identification and development, Coaching Education and sharing of best practices between the two organizations. 


Arlington Soccer Association is one of the largest clubs in Northern Virginia.  Their travel program begins at 9U and goes up through 23U and teams play in the ECNL, ECNL Regional League, EDP & NCSL. Arlington Soccer is led by Technical Director, German Peri, and supported by a large and diverse technical staff.   German Peri stated "We are happy to support a young and growing organization as they continue to professionalize their program and provide more opportunities for their players".



According to SCAA Director of Coaching, Darryl Springer, “the alliance made sense as the programs share some of the same core value with respect to player development while conveying long lasting life values.  Furthermore, we pride ourselves on developing players that focus on being good citizens, good students and the best soccer players they can be”.


This alliance will help grow SCAA’s player base, increase competitiveness, and provide broader development opportunities for its players and technical staff. SCAA players will have a natural pathway to the Elite soccer programs that Arlington Soccer Association offers. The new alliance supports the SCAA Board of Directors goals of increasing player opportunities and broadening positive social impact to the community through soccer.


What does this mean for SCAA Soccer?


Player Development: This alliance will facilitate and grow pathways and opportunities for SCAA player development on the Elite level as well as maintain and increase competitiveness at the grassroots soccer levels.


Staff Development: Our staff is key to the continued growth of our program. Access to professional level coaching education will help SCAA to strengthen our coaching staff. With the right level of coaching development, we can improve our player experience to be and compete with the finest in the Northern Virginia area.


Best Practices: The alliance gives SCAA the ability to leverage sponsorships, facilities, and relationships with local government, and communities. It will provide resource sharing, e.g., uniform and equipment vendors, websites, etc. We can use these growth opportunities to provide greater access to the game for our players. This will be in the form of Player  Identification Sessions, Camps, Festivals, Showcase Events, Tournaments and more.



TopShare this

SCAA Boys Basketball wins D2 Championship!!!!
by posted 04/01/2021

SCAA Boys Basketball wins D2 Championship!!!!

TopShare this

SCAA Food Drive - A Big Success!
by posted 11/09/2020

Thank You!

1,114.4 pounds of food was collected at SCAA’s first food drive on Saturday, November 7, 2020 and donated to Lorton Community Action Center!

Thanks to every community member who supported the food drive and to all of the volunteers who helped collect, load and unload the donations.

TopShare this